feedback on Anthony Bourdain show…was it what they thought he was going to do
i note no feedback in any of the papers….frankly it came across as what it really is in Jamaica…the divide widens as citizens getting the shaft in dem own country
- The cheesy Bond intro and the Bond theme music they played throughout. They really could have showcased some deserving jamaican artists. Missed opportunity!
- The entire scene at the roadside bar with the exception of the older gentleman who was trying to tell the truth before he was made to leave.
- The creepy dread with the balding head who was "friends "with Chris Blackwell.
- Chris Blackwell's views on how he can see 200 more places like his proposed project in Jamaica where the rich will get even more wealthy while the average Jamaican must fight for the tiny scraps that may drop on the floor.
- The pointless bits with Bourdain talking about the grotto and also James Bond while relaxing in the hammock.
The positives were....
- It brought to light the point that you make about the average Jamaican not really even having the freedom to enjoy their own country.
- I did like his point about the whole "save the environment" thing. Dem raise taxes to save some parts of the environment so the rich can enjoy it down the road. The vast majority of average people will never see the benefit in some cases.
- I like the vibe at Winnifred Beach. I hope it is not sold off as well.
Fifteen minutes of the sixty was worthy to air on TV, the other forty five minutes could have been so much better spent on other matters. I kind of got the feeling that his show was given a very low budget to work with and produce what they could, maybe they did the best with the amount they had available.
the observer had something dem copy from the CNN page, wonder if them gwine to do a follow up and cuss Bourdain
am guessing most people thought it was going to be a JTB commercial. nuff a dem prior to the show was a wave flag bout brand jamaica and how dem proud and what not.
those that follow his past shows as well as the CNN series knew better.
mi see few cussings on twitter but the episode was quite tame, compared to some of the other countries he did.
he raised some good points, food for thought for foreigners that thought they knew jamaica.
of course mi see one person on twitter seh dem never realize that this was the cost of tourism, mi a wonder if the person nuh see the exact same thing happening in other tourist destinations \0/
- The cheesy Bond intro and the Bond theme music they played throughout. They really could have showcased some deserving jamaican artists. Missed opportunity!
Reading from the Observer's article, I get the impression that a major part of the show was done in Portland. As I icall it seems Bond had a some kind of lasting impact on Portland, beside bananas and the site of early commercial tourism ventures, spilling over from the Banana operations?
So would it be unnatural to showcase cheesy Bond Music? Was any Music by deserving/undeserving Jamaican Artistes, played during the broadcast?
- Chris Blackwell's views on how he can see 200 more places like his proposed project in Jamaica where the rich will get even more wealthy while the average Jamaican must fight for the tiny scraps that may drop on the floor.
- The pointless bits with Bourdain talking about the grotto and also James Bond while relaxing in the hammock.
My assumptions is that Chris Blackwell paid for his property and selected it for the views he is enjoying correct? What is so wrong about? What is wrong with the Rich getting richer? Is it because the Rich is getting richer that the average Jamaican is fighting for tiny scraps. Is there a finite sum of that precludes the average Jamaican earning a living if the Rich also earn?
- It brought to light the point that you make about the average Jamaican not really even having the freedom to enjoy their own country..
Why does the vast majority of Jamaicans not really having the freedom to enjoy their own country? Who is stopping them Anthony Bourdain, Chris Blackwell, the rich?
- I did like his point about the whole "save the environment" thing. Dem raise taxes to save some parts of the environment so the rich can enjoy it down the road. The vast majority of average people will never see the benefit in some cases.
So any improvement to the environment is unlikely to benefit the poor in according to Chris Bourdain and you? Or is it merely your opinion and I am reading this wrong?
Tuff Gong, what is the use of contributing without having viewed the program. I'm still trying to figure that out.
Slow day?
Also look to where I use phrases such as "SOME parts" & "SOME cases".
Most of the Topics/Threads here I have zero first hand knowledge of. I am not a regular viewer of TV. I selectively watch Sports Playoffs or Athletics where Jamaicans play a principal role.
With that out of the way, I think I have faithfully quoted you. Took into consideration the: Some Parts and Some Cases and ask/commented based on what you saw and rendered opinion on?
- The creepy dread with the balding head who was "friends "with Chris Blackwell.
"Creepy dread?" LOL
You seriously don't recognize Braddie....maybe this will help...[/QUOTE]
His experience as an athlete sure paid off.
FOR most Jamaicans, the name Carl Bradshaw is synonymous with the world of film. Just say José, the name of the character he played in the iconic Jamaican film The Harder They Come, and it all becomes clear.Bradshaw has racked up an impressive list of acting credits in Jamaican films. This includes roles in Smile Orange, Dancehall Queen, Third World Cop, The Lunatic, Kla$h, Countryman, Club Paradise, The Mighty Quinn, One Love and Better Mus' Come. But what many do not know is that Bradshaw was also an athlete. He represented Jamaica at the 1968 Central American and Caribbean Games in Cuba as a quarter-miler, and also participated in the 400-metre hurdles. "Those days it wasn't the artificial tracks like they have now, we ran on grass or asphalt tracks. The spikes were also very different. We had the real long-nail spikes, but it was great to represent my country back then, Bradshaw told Jamaica Observer. He noted that his time for the 400 metres hovered between the 46.05 and 45-second mark. While in the one-lap hurdles he was clocking in the region of 50-seconds. Bradshaw would later share his skills on the track with budding athletes at Excelsior High School, in the Corporate Area, where he worked as head of the Physical Education Department.
Trying to find the whole scene.
Seeit deh starting at 0:44
"Mi a go shot im......"
Chris Blackwell's views on how he can see 200 more places like his proposed project in Jamaica where the rich will get even more wealthy while the average Jamaican must fight for the tiny scraps that may drop on the floor.
Yes that was scary. Turning Jamaica into wall to wall luxury resorts.
The positives were....
- It brought to light the point that you make about the average Jamaican not really even having the freedom to enjoy their own country.
- I like the vibe at Winnifred Beach. I hope it is not sold off as well.
Fifteen minutes of the sixty was worthy to air on TV, the other forty five minutes could have been so much better spent on other matters. I kind of got the feeling that his show was given a very low budget to work with and produce what they could, maybe they did the best with the amount they had available.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.